After I wrote about my new training plan,
maramaye let me know that she's been reading my weightlifting posts and wants to make a similar transformation but feels pretty clueless about what to do. After writing her quite the long reply, I realized that we could help each other out. She can't afford a trainer right now but I can train her for free and learn from the experience. This is a good opportunity for me to try my hand at personal training and see how well I do and how much I like it. I started having thoughts about this path only a few months after I fell so in love with weightlifting--I love to teach and I also like telling people what to do. ;) V has been encouraging me to get on with it but I've had some hesitation because I know I need to learn more and I'm also worried that I'm too bossy/mean/hardcore for most people.
maramaye accepted my offer and we've already set her up with a program. So far the entirety of our discussion is contained in the comments to that previous post because we thought it would be helpful to allow others to join in and critique our process or learn along with us. But I'm not sure anyone noticed. It's time to bring this project out into the open, hence this new post.
We're going to continue our discussion in the comments to this post. Additionally, I'm going to create a filter and tag for future posts on this subject (I'm thinking once a week, depending on the volume of comments). LJ probably isn't the best format for this but I think it will work well enough. This will be an opt-in filter, so let me know if you would like to follow
maramaye's transformation.
maramaye's main goal is to speed up her metabolism, so she'll be lifting heavy weights, increasing her general physical activity, and eating much and often.
We're going to continue our discussion in the comments to this post. Additionally, I'm going to create a filter and tag for future posts on this subject (I'm thinking once a week, depending on the volume of comments). LJ probably isn't the best format for this but I think it will work well enough. This will be an opt-in filter, so let me know if you would like to follow
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:From:
no subject
Other than that, wow, awesome, go y'all! I'll be interested to see how it goes, and I totally want on the filter.
From:
no subject
Plus I really do feel much better on the frostbite. I'm 90%-95% back to normal, I think.
From:
no subject
Specifically:
Calf raises - 1x10, then found it too easy with both feet so switched to one foot at a time
Calf raises - 2x10 (each foot)
Squat - 1x8 bodyweight only (I found the motion easy to do with good form, which I attribute to the prevalence of squat toilets in places I've lived; it was still difficult to do as a matter of strength.)
Squat - 1x8 with broomstick in place of weight bar
Squat - 1x6 with broomstick in place of weight bar
Lunge - 3x8
Deadlift - 1x8 normal with broomstick
Deadlift - 1x8 sumo, which I found a lot more comfortable
Deadlift - 1x6 sumo
Given the lack of elevators in Ukraine and how many stairs I'd been climbing and kilometers I'd been walking every day, I had thought I was in better shape than this. In all cases above, I could not have done another rep with good form (except for calf raises which I think I can do infinitely, due to dance training and having monstrous calves already). I also required a full ten minutes rest between my last set of lunges and my first set of deadlifts. And that's with the weight of a broomstick. Yikes.
Today I slept in late, so didn't wake up til 10:30am. Here's what my eating schedule looked like:
11am: yogurt (good european vanilla yogurt)
1pm: 2-3Tbsp peanut butter
3pm: 2 satsumas, 2 hard boiled eggs
5:30pm: personal-sized cheese pizza (homemade from scratch, yum)
7:30pm: 1 satsuma
9:30pm: 1oz almonds
(My workout started at 10:15pm)
11pm: 2 hard boiled eggs, 2 satsumas, 1oz almonds, 2Tbsp peanut butter
I'm still high on carbs and low on fat and protein; we didn't get to go grocery shopping today due to a sick 6-year-old.
Tomorrow I would really like to do some ballet.
From:
no subject
you've been injured. It will take away from your previous fitness. You've also been starving for 2 months, that's going to erase muscle with great efficiency.
Why did you have to rest for 10 minutes? (e.g. what sensation did you have that made you think "I need to rest"?) Did you get back to resting heart rate?
Regarding food -
how much yogurt?
I don't know how many calories you get from satsumas but I don't think you've even reached 2000 there (I could easily be wrong, that's just off the cuff)
(no subject)
From:From:
no subject
Did you change the order of the exercises from the order listed on stumptuous? Next time do them in the order listed as there is a logic behind it. Since the bodyweight squats and deadlifts were challenging to you, next week we'll just increase the reps and continue to work on form.
Regarding the rest, usually you shouldn't need more than 2-3 minutes rest between exercises or sets of an exercise. But with your recovery from frostbite and lack of muscle right now, it's nothing to worry about. It's good you are taking the rest you need and as your fitness level increases you should be able to rest less.
Your nutrition is getting better and you realize where you are lacking. I am minorly concerned about the sugar in your yogurt but at this point I'm just glad you're getting more calories (which we will continue to try to increase both the number and quality of).
Re: Saturday
From:Re: Saturday
From:Re: Saturday
From:From:
no subject
From:
no subject
It looks like the routine you are having her start with is moderate reps/moderate weight yes? E.g. she's going to be aiming at increasing muscle mass not at increasing recruitment of fibers (which would be heavy weights and low reps).
From:
no subject
I'm very familiar with both those sites and even kept a log on T-nation for a while. The Figure Athlete side sometimes makes me crazy as the articles can be a bit condescending (I do think Rachel Cosgrove and Jen Heath are great though). Thanks for the recommendation regardless.
At this point I think it's best if
(no subject)
From:From:
no subject
From:
Saturday
I woke up at 7:30am, and my eating schedule was the following:
8am: cream of wheat; yogurt
10am: 2 hardboiled eggs
12:30pm: yogurt
3pm: 3oz nuts
5pm: 1svg Kashi Go Lean cereal (the kind with 13g protein) in 1c whole milk; 2pcs chocolate
8pm: 1/2c potatoes roasted in olive oil and parmesan cheese, 1/2 large chicken breast
9:30pm: 1/2 large chicken breast
I managed to go grocery shopping, and the commissary actually had protein powder. I got some, and vegetables, and frozen hamburger patties, and a whole bunch of nuts, and a dozen eggs, and some pineapple, and whole milk, and the Kashi cereal to have instead of cream of wheat. I also got the kind of yogurt that's a really thick custard-style with tons of fat in it and blackberries mixed in, but without much sugar; it's mostly tangy. My new favorite yogurt.
From:
Re: Saturday
Soreness at this point is good; it means you really did work hard. :) As your body gets used to training you'll get less sore, less often. Gentle stretching was probably the right choice for today.
Re: Saturday
From:Re: Saturday
From:Re: Saturday
From:Re: Saturday
From:From:
no subject
From:
Sunday
10am: breakfast burrito (1 egg, cheese, bacon, a tiny bit of salsa, wrapped in a flour tortilla)
11am: yogurt
12pm: breakfast burrito (1 egg, cheese, bacon, a tiny bit of salsa, wrapped in a flour tortilla)
1pm: 1 satsuma
3pm: 1 large zucchini & 2 huge mushrooms, made in a pan with 1 Tbsp each butter, olive oil, and parmesan, with salt&pepper
4:30pm: 1oz pistachios
5:30pm: 2 hamburger patties with cheese, 3 servings green beans with butter
6:30pm: 1 satsuma
8pm: 2pcs chocolate
Tomorrow I should be able to get to the gym, though I've heard a rumor it might be closed to civilians for the next couple of days. Something to do with a basketball tournament. I'll be attempting Day 2 exercises.
From:
Monday
Instead of bench presses, I did push-ups with my feet up on a chair. (I'd guess about 18" off the ground.)
For the standing shoulder press I used a package of bottled water as the weight. There were four 2-liters, which is about 17.5lbs. If I'd had more weight I could have done more, but not by much. Certainly not another 2L.
For dips I used a chair behind me and my feet stretched out to about a 110 degree angle at my knees.
For ab crunches I used a 2L bottle of water on my chest for a weight.
The numbers were:
Push-ups: 1x6, 1x7, 1x6
Standing shoulder presses: 3x10
Assisted dips: 3x6
Ab crunches: 3x10
I don't feel nearly as sore after this one as I did after Day 1, but I have to say that the elevated push-ups were hard. Seriously hard. As were the dips.
From:
Re: Monday
8am: kashi cereal with whole milk; yogurt
10am: 3oz nuts
12pm: 2 hardboiled eggs
(I worked out from 1:30-2pm)
2:30pm: 2-scoop whey protein shake with whole milk (60g total protein; it took me almost an hour to drink the whole thing), 1 satsuma
6pm: 2 large servings (10-12oz total) roast beef, 1 small biscuit with butter, roasted carrots, 1/2 roasted potato
8pm: yogurt
I don't know how many calories that is, but I felt almost horribly full for most of the day.
Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:From:
Re: Monday
So you will be able to get to the gym Wednesday? Or is there a chance you will be at home again?
Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:Re: Monday
From:From:
Tuesday
I ate:
8am: kashi cereal in whole milk; yogurt
10:30am: 1 satsuma, one 2" chocolate cookie (one of my hosts bakes - she actually sells her stuff. I generally stay away from it.)
1pm: 8oz roast beef
2pm: yogurt
4:30pm: 4oz hamburger patty w/A1, 2svgs corn with butter
6:30pm: 3oz pork loin, 3svgs broccoli with butter
9pm: one 2" chocolate cookie, 1/2 glass of milk
I didn't feel hungry for long stretches of this morning, so I'd find myself realizing it had been too long and having to just eat according to the clock rather than to my feeling. I generally felt better today than yesterday.
From:
Re: Tuesday
Well you did a great job at that. I still want to see you eating some source of protein at every meal (cookies and yogurt don't count ;) ) but I'm pleased as your nutrition is generally getting better and you seem to be getting used to eating more often already.
Here's a good list of foods you might want to add to your diet. In particular, I'd like to see you eating more fish and other foods containing omega-3 fats. Next time you're at the grocery store look for omega-3 eggs. This is something to enjoy while in the developed world. Foods with lots of omega-3s can be a little more difficult to track down in other places (they were in China anyway).
From:
Wednesday
I kept putting my workout off to see if I'd feel better later in the day, and still have time to do it now if it ought to be done. But I don't know what to do in order to make the healthiest decision.
What do I do when I feel crappy?
From:
Re: Wednesday
You mention exhaustion. Do you just feel like laying around in bed? In that case you should probably listen to what your body is telling you and rest. I wouldn't train with a fever, either.
Re: Wednesday
From:Re: Wednesday
From:Re: Wednesday
From:Re: Wednesday
From:Re: Wednesday
From:Re: Wednesday
From:Re: Wednesday
From:Re: Wednesday
From:From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Also, hi.
From:
no subject
I've put you on the filter.